Our news briefs contain bits of information released from Federal and state government agencies which will help you stay current on changes that could directly impact your business. News Brief #5 focuses on the postponement of the effective date for the NLRB employee rights notice, Colorado and Vermont state minimum wage increases for 2012 and information on the new 2012 paid sick leave law for Connecticut.
NLRB Postpones Posting of Notice to April 30, 2012
The National Labor Relations Board postponed the effective date of its employee rights notice-posting rule at the request of the Federal court in Washington, DC hearing a legal challenge regarding the rule. The Board’s ruling states that it has determined that postponing the effective date of the rule would facilitate the resolution of the legal challenges that have been filed with respect to the rule. The new implementation date is April 30, 2012.
Most private sector employers will be required to post the 11-by-17-inch notice on the new implementation date of April 30, 2012. The notice is available at no cost from the NLRB through its website, www.nlrb.gov, which has additional information on posting requirements and NLRB jurisdiction.
Minimum Wage in Colorado Increases to $7.64 Per Hour Beginning January 1, 2012
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment announced that the minimum wage in Colorado will rise to $7.64 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $4.62 for tipped employees, effective January 1, 2012. You can download and print the Colorado 2012 minimum wage poster below.
Minimum Wage in Vermont Increases to $8.46 Per Hour Beginning January 1, 2012
The Vermont Department of Labor announced that effective January 1, 2012, the minimum wage in Vermont will rise to $8.46 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $4.10 per hour for tipped employees.
Helpful Information Available Regarding New Paid Sick Leave Law in Connecticut
On July 1, 2011, Governor Malloy signed into law An Act Mandating Employers Provide Paid Sick Leave to Employees, which requires employers of 50 or more employees to provide annual paid sick leave to each of the employer’s “service workers” in Connecticut. The new law is effective January 1, 2012.
The Connecticut Department of Labor has issued information to assist employers and the general public in understanding and complying with the new legislation including:
- Posters in English which satisfy the notice requirements of the new law.
- Posters in Spanish which satisfy the notice requirements of the new law.
- Guidance for employers and employees in answering questions concerning the new law, such as definitions of certain terms used in the law and a list of occupations which qualify as “service workers.”