It’s a controversial fight that doesn’t seem to be slowing down: the fight for a higher minimum wage. Whether you’re a champion for raising the wage or oppose the thought of it, a number of states, cities, and counties are doing it any way.
Don't want to worry about keeping up with new laws?
PrimePay's All-Inclusive Payroll bundle increases business efficiency by pairing our payroll, tax, HR, time tracking, and workers’ comp solutions.
To help you start planning your 2019, we've put together a list of the states that will be increasing its minimum wage. Don't forget to check your local jurisdiction though, since your city or county may follow different standards.
Here’s everything you need to know about minimum wage, and increases for 2019 by state.
What is minimum wage?
Minimum wage is the lowest wage per hour that a worker may be paid and is mandated by federal law, according to Investopedia. Covered, nonexempt workers are entitled to the federal minimum wage, which has not changed from $7.25 an hour, effective July of 2009.Who created minimum wage?
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is responsible for establishing minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and child labor standards. This applies to all full-time and part-time employees in the private sector and in federal, state, and local governments.
Will minimum wage go up in 2019?
Yes, for some. Here are a few things you need to know – because a refresher on this information is always a good idea.
Twenty-one states adhere to that federal standard of $7.25 per hour. However, if a state, city, or county has a minimum wage higher than that, employers are required to pay workers the higher rate.
Minimum wage increases by state.
A few pieces of clarification before diving into the list:
- Some of these increases do not go into effect until midway through 2019.
- Some cities and counties have a different minimum wage than the state.
- Some employees who are not protected by the FLSA are exempt from minimum wage (ex. tipped workers).
- Some increases are part of a gradual phase-out strategy.
Alaska - $9.89
Arizona - $11.00
Arkansas - $9.25
California - $12.00*
Colorado - $11.10
Delaware - $8.75 (increasing again to $9.25 on October 1, 2019)
District of Columbia - $14.00
Florida - $8.46
Maine - $11.00
Massachusetts - $12.00
Minnesota - $9.86**
Missouri - $8.60
Montana - $8.50
New Jersey - $8.85
New York – $11.10***
Ohio - $8.55
Rhode Island - $10.50
South Dakota - $9.10
Vermont - $10.78
Washington - $12.00
*California – This rate is for employers with 26 or more employees. For employers with 25 or less workers, the minimum wage will be $11.00 per hour.
**Minnesota – This rate is for large employers. For small employers, the minimum wage will be $8.04 per hour.
***New York – This rate is for most employers in the state of New York. For NYC, the minimum wage rate will be $15.00 for large employers and $13.50 for small employers. For certain counties, the rate is different.
Do you think the federal minimum wage should be increased? Share your thoughts below.
Disclaimer: Please note that this is not all inclusive. Our guidance is designed only to give general information on the issues actually covered. It is not intended to be a comprehensive summary of all laws which may be applicable to your situation, treat exhaustively the subjects covered, provide legal advice, or render a legal opinion. Consult your own legal advisor regarding specific application of the information to your own plan.